Nearly 30 CFPCA Department of Communication Students and Faculty Members Authored and Co-authored Peer Reviewed Papers Accepted by the International Communication Association

Ten Department of Communication faculty members, 11 doctoral students, seven masters students and one undergraduate, have authored and co-authored peer reviewed papers accepted by the discipline’s most competitive international conference, the International Communication Association (ICA). Decisions announced on January 17, 2017.

Faculty members had two categories of submissions accepted—individually authored papers and competitive panel proposals. Those with individual accepted papers include Assistant Professors, Michael Fuhlhage, Rosie Jahng, Rahul Mitra, and Professor and Chair Lee Wilkins. Doctoral candidate Juan Liu also had an individually authored paper accepted.

Paper topics range from historical analysis of news coverage of secession prior to the American civil war, to computer-mediated communication, specifically computer dating, to a theoretical examination of the intersection of law and ethics on the issue of privacy. Topics also included content analysis of media coverage on the bombing of the offices of the French magazine that published cartoon images of Muslims, examination of the tweets from scientists as they were dealing with the Flint water crisis and communicating about sustainable resource management.

In addition, a five-member research team amassing systematic literature reviews for the World Health Organization (WHO) also had their competitive panel accepted. Those faculty members are Associate Professors Pradeep Sopory, Julie Novak and Donyale Padgett. Assistant Professor Stine Eckert and Wilkins are also members of the WHO research team.  Doctoral students Ashleigh Day, Fatima Barakji, and doctoral candidate Liu are also listed as contributors and co-authors on the WHO project. Doctoral students Ashleigh Day, Fatima Barakji, and doctoral candidate Liu are also listed as contributors and co-authors on the WHO project.

Graduate students also worked as members of various faculty-lead research teams that produced peer reviewed work accepted for conference presentation. These include a research team lead by Assistant Professor Stephanie Tong that investigates broadly individual responses to computer mediated communication—specifically on-line dating—and included doctoral students Elena Corriero, Rob Matheny, Annisa Rochadiat, and Kunto Wibowo. Communication masters students involved in the project include Rachelle Prince, Allison Elam and Will Cooper.

A second research project led by Eckert, which grew out of a graduate-level course on interviewing, included doctoral students Jade Metzger, Holly Reiss, Sean Kolhoff and Sydney O’Shea Wallace, plus masters students Fatima Ibrahim and Savannah Lee. That project focused on how Muslims in Detroit “represent” themselves in an on-line environment. The computer-dating project also included an undergraduate. In part, the National Science Foundation has funded Tongs’ work.  

The International Communication Association is the most internationally focused of the three major scholarly organizations that represent the discipline of communication. More than 3,000 scholars regularly attend the annual conference, which this year will be held in San Diego over Memorial Day weekend. Previous conferences have been held in Japan (2016) and are scheduled for Prague (2018). The 2017 conference represents the largest faculty and student contribution to ICA in the history of the department