Journalism Day Honorees

Journalism Day is Thursday, October 19, and the Department of Communication is pleased to announce its 2017 honorees! 

  • Journalist of the Year: John Gallagher, Detroit Free Press
  • Alumna of the Year: Carolyn Chin Watson, Hour Media
  • Graduate of the Year: Charlie Kadado

A celebration luncheon will take place at Wayne State’s McGregor Memorial Conference Center, where the department will also award 13 scholarships to current journalism students.

For more information, please contact Carol Horn at 313-577-2627 or